GHA HCV Program Notice

WAITLIST STATUS: The HCV Waitlist is currently CLOSED

 

In an effort to address concerns about the Coronavirus Pandemic and an attempt to mitigate the threat of exposure to HCV Program Participants, Owners and Personnel, GHA is instituting a series of temporary modifications to Program and Office Operations at our office located 578 Broadway, Gary, IN 46402.
Read Full COVID-19 Notice v2

HCV_Landlord_Flyer

Read COVID-19 Message to GHA Residents

Program Specialist

Tiffany Carver – Vice President of HCV

Aracelli Rios-Vega – Program Manager – avega@garyhousing.org

Chaleice Collins – Program Specialist – ccollins@garyhousing.org

Debra Williams – Program Specialist – dwilliams@garyhousing.org

Chloe Jones – Program Specialist – cjones@garyhousing.org

Marisol Miranda – Program Specialist – mmiranda@garyhousing.org

Jana Bonds – Program Specialist – jbonds@garyhousing.org

Micale Dixon – FSS Coordinator – mdixon@garyhousing.org

Kourtnei Hamer – Receptionist/ Intake – khamer@garyhousing.org

CONTACT

General Office Phone Number: 219-881-6416
General Email Address: hcv@garyhousing.org
Office Hours: 8:30 am – 4:30 pm M-TH; CLOSED to the Public Friday

How the Program Works

With funding from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, GHA’s Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program helps low-income households choose and pay for quality housing in the private market by paying a portion of their rent.

The following are the eight steps most Participants take to be a part of the HCV Program:

  1. Apply and interview
  2. Attend a voucher briefing
  3. Use your voucher
  4. Await inspection results
  5. Await rent decision
  6. Sign the lease
  7. Move in, pay rent and utilities
  8. Be a good tenant

To participate in the HCV Program, families and Property Owners must make and uphold certain commitments to GHA and each other:

Voucher Holder obligations include:

  • Comply with HCV Program rules and regulations, including the Family Obligations
  • Comply with the terms of the lease with the Property Owner
  • Permit housing inspections
  • Report changes in income and household composition
  • Maintain the unit in good condition throughout the term of the lease

Property Owner obligations include:

  • Screen all applicants for suitability as tenants
  • Collect the tenant’s portion of the rent
  • Comply with Landlord/Tenant and Fair Housing laws
  • Comply with the terms of the lease with the tenant
  • Comply with the terms of the HAP Contract with GHA
  • Permit inspections
  • Make timely repairs to keep the property in good condition

Portability

Housing Choice vouchers are accepted by cities across the country, giving families real choice about where they live. One of the most attractive features of Housing Choice is that rental assistance is “portable.”  It “moves” when you do. If you move from one housing authority to another with a voucher program anywhere in the United States, you are eligible for continued assistance. As with any move, you must give GHA and your landlord a written 30-day notice. However, depending on your lease, your landlord may require up to a 60-day notice. GHA will determine if there is a housing authority with a Housing Choice program in the area you wish to move. If there is, GHA will forward your information to that authority.

  • Every housing authority has its own rules, regulations and deadlines. Contact the authority in your new area to get this information.
  • Fair Market Rent limits or payment standards may be different.
  • The utility allowances for the new Authority may be different and may affect the rent amount you pay.
  • Subsidy standards may be different.
  • A different voucher will be issued to you. The new housing authority may change the size of your voucher.
  • When you move, the new authority will re-verify your income.
  • Occupancy standards may be different.